Do You Feel You Are So Shy or Have Social Issues that are Keeping You from a Better Life

I grew up in a dysfunctional environment and because of that I did not learn social skills. I was active in my church as a youth, but I was always an outsider who was “allowed” to be part of the group. I saw the social interactions between the other youth, but I was not skilled in those “social graces.”  I did not know it at that time, but I  had Post Traumatic Stress Disorder making it even harder to interact naturally.

A MUST READ

A MUST READ

(Available through Amazon.com, Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million and other brick and mortar stores)

In my recent book, “Scar Wars Forged In Fright” I tell of living with, dealing with, and healing from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. In my case, it was caused by severe mental, physical, and sexual abuse. In the book, it details some of the therapy processes that I went through in order to heal.

After healing from PTSD, I was on shaky ground. You see socially I was shy and timid. I did not feel I belonged in the “regular society”, but I was wrong. I had been infertile for 15 years in that time I had 3 miscarriages, but finally God blessed me with a daughter. And that’s when I knew I had to become part of regular society. I could not let my dysfunctional relationship with society hurt my precious daughter’s future in any way.  I wanted to break the cycle of seclusion that led to lies and abuse in my childhood

Oh, I was scared. But I took a step every day towards becoming a social person. Not the facade everyone knew, but the genuine me.  Since that day, I have been taking steps to get where I am now. I went back to college, authored a book, and became a Certified Professional Coach and Group Facilitator.

I learned through a long, hard, and lonely process how to become able to interact “within society” not just with society.

I want people to know this is an attainable goal! I have learned tips and tricks to make things go more smoothly for a person to ease back into society’s realms.

Through my courses with the International Coach Certification Academy, I have learned more techniques and how to obtain feasible goals. The last part of my training was experiential (hands on) and I graduated at the top of my class. I worked hard for that Certification because I want to help others that may be standing in the shoes I used to wear.

As an Author, I want my book to make an impact on people about healing from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, but as an International Certified Coach I want to take people beyond just healing wounds. I want to help repair lives.

Some people may not have been touched by PTSD, Maybe you just have Social Anxiety or just maybe you do not feel comfortable in your place in society. Maybe it is holding you back in relationships or in your career.

I am by no means a “Perfect Person” now. But I am constantly seeking to better my own life and using the techniques I have learned from my education through the International Coach Certification Academy and through the trials and tribulations in my own life trying to integrate into society I have a lot of knowledge to share.

How would you like to be able to be involved in church events, take college courses, go on dates, talk to your co-workers without fear of judgement? These are things I have learned on my journey and there is so much more!

 

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Author, Certified Personal Coach, Certified Professional Coach, Coaching Practice, For Hope and Salvation, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Publishing a Book, Today is a Good Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

