Yes there is a Heaven. Dedicated to Kara Tippets

Daddy had esophageal cancer and he beat it. It was very hard on his body. When he went back to have an endoscopy to check everything out they found a tumor in his stomach. Through more treatments, he beat that cancer too but he was in a very weakened state he had gone from 256 pounds to 178. He was 6’2″. He said that was a real bad way to get the weight off your body. His last endoscopy brought fatal news. He now had an aggressive form of stomach cancer that barely responded to treatments and that is if they could operate. But they couldn’t operate. That day they set up Hospice and I went back home because I’m a writer and I can work from anywhere. All of my other family had used up every bit of vacation during his back to back fight with cancer so I went home to be my Daddy’s daytime companion.. He could only eat tiny amounts of food and drink a health shake at first but it was a very aggressive tumor then soon he couldn’t even take water we had to swab his mouth with a sponge on a stick they looked like lollipops so that is what we called them (my Daddy was a coffee drinking man he drank coffee all the time and he began his day and ended his day with a cup of coffee) Sometimes I would have coffee and when no one looked I swabbed his mouth with that because we took our coffee the same. He liked that, but too many people were watching so I didn’t get to do it as much as I wanted to. He lost weight so fast we didn’t realize how much he had lost. The last day my daddy got out of bed he thought he was late for school and he didn’t understand why we wouldn’t let him go to school. My Daddy was also Bipolar but with the medicines that he needed to sedate him they could no longer give him those meds. He waited till my eldest sister got home and when she said Daddy I’m here he awakened out of that deep murky fog and told us all he loved us and hugged us all. He never woke again. The next day he went to heaven at five o’clock. Which was a good sign for us because he always got home by five o’clock every day of his working years., 5:00 p.m. on October 8, 2011. There were things that had to be done to prepare him for the funeral home and that’s when we saw what actually killed my Daddy the tumor had forced him to starve to death.. I’m the middle child and me and my mom and the second to the last child got him ready. Like some tragic scene from some fiction novel, it began to rain really hard and the people came and put him on a stretcher and laid a luxurious red velvet blanket over him. They then had a special plastic covering that kept him dry kind of like Snow White. And they left. When I saw my father again I was amazed he looked like my father before cancer had ravished him. That was a blessing. That was all back home in Florida and I kept it together for everyone but I still had to drive home to Northern Alabama. Instead of seeing my dad when he looked good my mind would only visualize him the night we prepared for him to go to the funeral home. That thought haunted me and tore at me until about a month ago, I had a dream I was by a window like a drive thru window big and open and my dad pulled beside the building and he looked perfect and joyous, He was in a mint condition white pickup truck, his arm was out the window as usual. He.itold me I just came by to tell you I am alright. When I awakened I felt peace about my father and I knew he was in Heaven. The next night he came to a crowd of people that I was in, but there was a barrier between us, but I could see that he was not just alright he was perfect in every way. A perfect man. he was my Daddy made perfect. I don’t know how old he was he just looked like a man. A perfect in proportions man right down to his hair he had pearly white teeth and he was joyous. My Daddy was allowed to comfort me and show how perfect God had made him in Heaven. Some people will just say it was “JUST” a dream well even if it was then it was sent straight from God Himself. I felt his Joy saw his body made perfect and finally knew in my heart my Daddy was home where he wanted to be. It has had a profound effect on me and the lesson that I was taught at church that next day was about how the world will know we are Christians by our work. I am a Hospice Volunteer now. After that dream reading Mundane Faithfulness, and that sermon I knew that I had to be a volunteer. There are people that have no family surrounding them when they are leaving this world but now I am a part of a group that will be a companion with them to the end. Made Perfect In Christ is such a beautiful sight. Yes, there is definitely a Heaven!

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Being made Perfecct, Bittersweet goodbyes, Christianity, For Hope and Salvation, God's Will, Joy, Mental Health, The Light of The World, Today is a Good Day, Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

