Ending The Year With The Good And The Bad

Well this comes from a hospital bed in the ER. Pain is tolerable and my stomach isn’t cramping anymore. They think it’s just my IBS acting up it is supposed to be brought on by stress. I do have some stress going on right now. It is my book,, it has been edited and is ready for publication. The Publisher will not be open until January 5, 2015. It is not like l am nervous about the deadline the book is complete, and ready to print.

It is about the impact this book will have on the people who choose to read it. “Scar Wars Forged In Fright” is the memoir of my life up until to about age 30. It is all about what caused Post Traumatic Stress Disorder to almost destroy my life. The journey that took me from America, Asia, Europe, and back to the United States all the while dealing with nightmares, flashbacks, panic attacks and sadly many times I almost took my own life. UNTIL I found help for the PTSD. I was nine when the nightmares began. 5 years old is the first time I was sexually abused but that was a hidden memory for many years. The totality of my abuse is not represented fully in the book, there were just  too many instances of abuse.

What I do worry about is the effect the book will have on people who will choose to read it The fact that the subject matter is so intense makes the book all most seem like a thriller. I worry about people who are beginning to heals from childhood sexual, mental, and physical abuse that the intense setting and childlike graphic detail of what actually happened to me may trigger their own symptoms of PTSD. I do not want people struggling with the very things I was fighting my way through. I feel like there should be some kind of warning on the cover.

I also worry the effect it WILL have on my family of origin. We have all grown and healed to different extents, I do not wish to bring more pain to their lives. I have been told by a nephew never to contact him again and my baby sister who was  fortunately for the most part saved from the horrors of our childhood because she was so young that she does not remember that kind of abuse happening in our home, has told me She will never read the book because she cannot handle the abuse that “I went through”. I understand that because, I too, would never want to know that kind of abuse if it had not ever touched my life.

This book is about the journey to healing I took and along my journey some incredible people were placed in my life that nurtured and loved me.

Every Author wants to be successful.and sell as many books as they can I just pray that people who read this book will not be traumatized by it. There is hope and healing for anyone who suffers from PTSD I am living proof you can heal and have a better life. You just have to keep telling yourself during the healing process to STAY THE COURSE. AND KNOW GOD ON A VERY PERSONAL LEVEL…

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Author, Bad Day, Dreams and Nightmares, God's Will, Hurtful Words, Pain, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Sick, Suicide Prevention and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

