Time For The Company Christmas Party

Yes, it is that time of year again. I actually have not had to go with my Husband to one of these in the last eight years because we were separated. It lasts 5 hours. They have a wonderful buffet and plenty of drinks without liquor. The deal is at the end of the five hours they give out the Raffle Prizes but you have to be present to win so my husband who insists on getting there fifteen minutes early will be waiting fives hours and fifteen minutes just in case he wins something. Thank goodness it is only once a year! You see I have a lower back problem where I have three bulging discs and then there is the fact I have severe arthritis in my hips and legs. Which means I will grin and bear it. We just reunited over the summer so I will be scrutinized by his co-workers I am sure

I am not a socialite! I will be expected to act as one though. But it is good training for future speaking engagements. My husband’s work life and our home life only intersect on extravagant occasions such as the Christmas Party and this year their new building was finished and they had a beautiful Open House. They always have the best food. And this will actually be the first year in a few that they have had the party. All extra funding went towards the new building. But I went to the open house it was a lot of walking to see all four floors but I made it. And of course they had elevators so no stair climbing; which I just cannot do anymore. I have a great outfit put together found some really nice black leather boots that go to the knee and my plain deep red skirt goes just over the top of them. The top is red with thin black stipes in a plaid pattern and gold heads throughout the pattern. It is perfect for the business casual style they asked the employees to keep in mind. And then I bought a beautiful. Long wide black scarf. I have a special necklace that is a black cord with a slider plate that has Phillipians 4:13 on it and some silver earrings to match. My husband will be like Johnny Cash stepping out head to toe in black. To include his black cowboy hat. He is an awesome party guest. Every since I met him I saw how beautiful he was right down to his soul. People just open their lives up when they sit and talk with him, so the conversations do not have long uneasy pauses in them. I do hate it when he leaves my side to go across the large banquet room to greet a co-worker because I know none of them. I can only name one because my husband talks highly of him and he is from India and how can you forget the name Jiggar? I really like him too, their is nothing phony about him. I usually do not wear my contacts and make up except for occasions like this so I know I will look nice and everything will go well. I hope he wins a prize since he is determined to stay all night. Usually it’s big screen televisions and all sorts of game consoles and other electronics, I actually hope we win a PlayStation my daughter has XBox and has had it for years and even though the system is in excellent shape, it seems most of the games She wants to play are made for PlayStation. We have enough Tvs for every bedroom in the house and the Living room. But a PlayStation would be an awesome extra gift that Santa could leave. Oh yes,even though my daughter quit believing in Santa many years ago and will soon be 16 she has decided she wants to arrange it as if Santa comes Christmas Eve. While she is sleeping so absolutely no presents under the tree till Chrismas Morning. That PlayStation sure would be a big hit. So who knows maybe for patiently waiting all night God could get us one for an extra Special Surprise. That would make the night worth all the pain. Actually after writing this all out I am looking forward to going now! It is actually going to be a wonderful evening!

Thank goodness this is not a Cinderella story because it will be around 1:30 am by the time we get in. Well I’m off to start the process of turning into an image of myself. “Myself” wears eyeglasses and no make up. But tonight this image will be reversed I will not wear my contacts and I shall try my best act as if I am a make-up artist.

Hope you all out there are getting in the Christmas Spirit. This has definitely made me get more in the Christmas Spirit. Merry Christmas! Remeber Jesus is the Reason for the season!

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

