The Sandman Comes To Town

Yes, it was a sleepy day for me, but I could not rest. I was extremely tired when I woke up this morning around 4:30 am feeling like I was going to lose consciousness any second and tried to go back to sleep because I was so exhausted. I had a breakfast appointment that I could not miss at 9: am So at 8:14 am I told myself take a power nap and then i was waking from a dream around 8:30 am. Can you even get to R.E.M. sleep that fast? All I know is in like 16 minutes I slept enough to have a dream and then the alarm went off and I threw myself in the shower and made it to the meeting place at 9:03 first time I was ever late and the person I was meeting was even more late than I was so it did not even matter. We had breakfast together and the middle of the month she buys breakfast and at the first of the month I buy us breakfast.  So I was treated to breakfast and good fellowship.

By the time I got home I was exhausted all over again. That dirty rotten Sandman was just shoveling sleepy dust in my eyes but I had a deadline to make on some content I was writing and so I started typing away. I should have taken the nap. Because after writing and accidentally erasing it twice I wrote it a third time but when I hit the “release Text” button it said an error had occurred and I needed to do it again. I just bit the bullet on that one and since the deadline was one I had set up for myself I erased the deadline and since the article had gone on somewhere into cyberspace I gave up. So I listen to some relaxing nature sounds and again tried to fall asleep but that is when  the change in weather set my pain level from low to high. Of course I was out of pain medications and since people abuse them you can only get them on the exact day after you run out. Last night I called and asked the pharmacy could they have it filled early so I could get one into me after having  taken the last one yesterday morning and the medication is not very strong and I only take it twice a day so what was one missed dose? Well it was in the thirties today and on cold days it seems like my arthritis pain peaks. Plus having the three bulging disks at the end of my spine where it joins to the tale bone was making sure not only did I feel this horrible ache in my body I also had stabbing pains in my back. So I called the pharmacy I always use and they had not filled it did not even know it was supposed to be filled but they assured me they would have it ready in an hour. Not the usual thirty minutes but an hour. So I got everything in line for the errands I had to run and in a lot of pain drove all over town getting things don’t.

But I finished the errands including picking the medication up and since I was driving I did not take the medication. By that time it was time for me to get my daughter from school and one of the be-bopping bff’s came with us and we went to Burger King and I ordered a Mocha Frappe took the medicine and chased it with Frappe. I was thinking to myself oh I will feel sweet release very soon, but that was not the case. That is when the pain in my stomach came upon me. Like I had swallowed a hot lava rock. But the girls had cheer practice so go them there and had an hour and a half to kill. My back hurt my whole body was feeling painful and I had the lava rock in my stomach. So not feeling very creative by the time I got home I decided to just edit the new book I am writing and the drudgery of that at least kept my focus off the pain for the most part. But I was done for the day and had my pajamas on and The Sandman had my eyes packed with sleepy dust when my husband calls and says I will have to go pick up our daughter from practice because they had just released him from work and he still had an hour commute. Painfully I get dressed again and brave the cold, (that must freeze the marrow in my bones to make them ache so bad) go back into the cold and even though practice gets over at 5:30 everyday I was in the cold car from 5:15 until 5:45. But when I got my girl I headed home and gave up on the day.

But the day still had plans for me! I had my to do list to fulfill and the last thing on it tonight is write a blog post. And here you have it all in black and white. My blog post. Now everything is marked off my list. And since I have fallen asleep three times in this last paragraph I must now take my leave and sleep until someone brave enough wakes me. Which will unfortunately be my own self because the new improved me 2.0 version likes to wake early in the morning.

Good night! Thank Father God! Good night!

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Pain, Sleepy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

