What Does a Pittance Really Amounts To?

So what is a Pittance? Well, it is a very small or inadequate wage paid to someone for a job. I have heard the word used many times in Literary books that I have read through the years. For the most part the writer was descriptive enough that I knew a pittance was almost a slap in the face when it came to earning . Most of the time the pittance was paid to a writer in the story.

I have never needed to use this word in my life until I started selling content to a certain content broker. When I took the assessment test I believed I would start on their bottom level because other than the books I had written I had no Freelance experience as a writer. I do mow after 14 articles of 250 – 500 words a piece. They want you to take a news article and make it into a understandable brief on that particular article.  For a pittance. When they assessed me I was lucky My writing exam scored me at a level 3 out of 5 levels. They sent an email saying I would make 1.78 per word. Look at that number. Notice anything missing. The dollar sign is missing. Because although they tell you that you will at least make 1.78 a word they do not tell you that it is not a $1.78 you find that miserable fact out after you write a 500 word article and then go see how much you actually made from your first sale of content. It should read like this $0..01.78 Almost 2 cents a word. That my friends is a pittance. Because if your content is not perfect they will reject you and not pay you anything  and after so many rejections you are ousted from their writing team. I have written 14 articles and all 14 have been accepted by admin and sold to a buyer. This is my first week and because I have had all 14 articles accepted and sold and  I earned $22.98 for the week.

I put a far higher price to my words than that but I am not the one who runs the company. So to get experience as a Freelance Writer I must accept this pittance and write my best works and build a name for myself and that is when being a Freelance Writer will pay off. I am glad that this is not my main income. I would die in the streets for sure.

But my true calling is as an Author and on January 3, 2015 my book “Scar Wars Forged In Fright” will be released. The book will bring me the kind of money and success I deserve. I have also written a Novella called “The Thinnest Loser Confessions of an Unreformed Bulimic” but because of my lack of marketing skills and the fact that it is a self-published    e-book it too just draws a pittance each month. But my real book, the one I have a traditional Publisher for, now this book will be well marketed and since it depicts a life lived by someone living with undiagnosed Post Traumatic Stress Disorder culminating in a final life or death crisis and ending in years of therapy and healing it will do well. I believe since this nation is now being taught about the disorder they should see how it affected me from the age of nine until thirteen years later when at twenty-two it was simply heal or die.

The book is definitely not for children to read. It tells in some detail about what happened during my childhood and that included not only physical and emotional abuse but, sexual abuse, and rape as well. Written inside that book is actually something no person should ever have to think about. But for me it was my entire childhood.

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

