When You See Big Tears Coming Down Your Child’s Cheeks

This is actually a parents worse nightmare for your child to be hurting. But it all started so suddenly…

I texted my daughter about what time I should come pick her up from cheer practice she texted back 5:00 pm. I automatically thought “yeah, right!” I knew as usual I would go there and be there exactly on time or a bit before and I would wait. And Wait. Then thirty minutes after she said practice would be over she would drag herself to the car and we would both go home exhausted from the trappings of the day.

But my phone started ringing around 4:00 pm and I was in another room and almost decided not to answer it but the Mother inside me said “what if?”. I got to the phone quickly and yes the picture proved it was my daughter calling and I answered hoping she would say “come get me we got out early from practice!” But when I heard her say Mommy in a painfully tortured voice and since she had just got over a broken nose from cheer stunts I was afraid she had broken something again. I said “oh my girl, what is it? And in that wretched painful voice she said she was having stabbing pains in her abdomen. Glad it was not another break but frightened of what this could mean I just told her I would be right there.

When I saw her it was worse. She has the biggest tears I have ever seen and they actually pop out of her tear ducts like on the old cartoons I watched as a kid. Every time I see her cry I want to fix the problem immediately but the stabbing pain in her stomach was beyond me and the doctors were all closing and so I made a dash for the hospital which is about thirty miles away. Her Daddy called on our way out of town to say he was getting off work and I told him instead of coming home to meet me at the hospital.

When we got to the desk to be admitted those same big tears were popping onto her cheeks and she was holding her stomach. I had chosen this particular hospital, one,  because it was never overcrowded  and two, it was the closest hospital that could deal with this problem. I was holding her when they took the vital signs so I did not know anything.  No one ever told me either so I just decided that the results must be okay, right? Then comes a nurse with a cup for a urinalysis and I get worried it’s her kidneys automatically. As she comes from the bathroom with the sample her Daddy arrives and Daddy’s Little  Girl that she is, she really let herself breakdown then.

I, of course, thought the worst, appendicitis or kidney infection that much pain it must be something really bad. So we waited a while, finally asking for a blanket because coming straight from cheer practice she only had shorts and a tee shirt on and the night was getting cold and as usual the hospital got even colder. Once the nurse came back with the blanket and we had her comfortable a Nurse Practioner comes in takes a detailed History and feels her abdomen. My daughter had been on Antibiotics  back to back because she had strep throat last week and they gave her a really high dose of a powerful antibiotic and our Family Doctor said most likely it would lead to another infection because it kills all bacteria in the digestive system good and bad. He had been correct and even though she had a three day break between the antibiotics it had eaten her stomach up and given her gastritis. Oh how thankful  I was to hear that because I have had gastritis to that extent of pain and yet I knew with the right medicines the pain would soon all be almost over. She got the medications that would help her and she started feeling less pain but was physically exhausted from the whole ordeal.

We took her to her Favorite Barbecue place and she ordered one of their monster sized baked potatoes. That was her very favorite thing and when she stopped eating halfway through and said she did not want it anymore I knew she still was out of sorts, Since we had two vehicles to get home she chose to go get her medicine with her dad. We got home and when she found out I had washed and dried her favorite pajamas, she quickly put them on and went to bed. No school tomorrow. She was too exhausted from the whole long ordeal and I want her to have all the rest her little body really needs.

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Bad Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

