The To Do List

Oh yes, I have a list of things I want to get accomplished each day but today at 6:30 pm I became so sleepy, brain tired, and even heart weary, that I dismissed being able to go to church which is a sign something is very off with me because that is where I gain my strength. Yet I shut the book with the two to three more projects I had planned to finish and had not completed, took my nighttime medications and went to sleep. But as I was going to sleep I remembered I had not written a blog post for today. Now if you follow my blog you know I do not usually blog everyday, but November is a special months for writers.

In November all writers are challenged to write a book in those thirty days. It does get people excited and some writers do write quality books in those thirty days. But for Bloggers we are challenged to write a bog post everyday to kind of like be the cheer leaders for the novel writers. In order to support their dedication we also pledge that we  will write everyday. I am a new Author this is my first time to participate and truthfully I should have the taken the challenge to write a book, but this is really a busy time of year for such a challenge and I was just not mentally prepared to find a book hiding within me, so since I am also a Blogger I chose to be one of the cheer leaders. Just letting the Authors know that we are committed to this month of dedicated writing we promise to write a blog everyday.

Now at 6:30 pm I closed my book with my to do list and went to sleep. As I was falling asleep I told myself I would hate to let the writers down so if I woke up at 11:00 pm like I usually do, I would grab the computer and at least write a bog post. My utter sadness was that I did not go to church. And there is no way to make that up at because all the churches are closed and tucked in for the night. But I will write this post and have only one challenge unmet for the day.So here I am up at 11:00 pm  writing a blog post.

November is the month the Editor from my Publishing company gets my book in his hot little hands and finds every novice writer error I have made. He will also determines if the novel flows and if the writing style is followed throughout the book. You see, I wrote the book in third person past tense. When I edited the book myself I caught errors I had made where I had just completely changed into first person present. Oh, I was so glad I caught it and fixed the error before I sent it to the Publisher in that shape. Yes I am going to make rookie mistakes and I am quite ready to see all the red marks upon my manuscript and supposed changes to make the flow smoother. I just look at it as part of the process. Will I be sad to see all my errors circled in red ink reminding me of what a true novice I am? Yes of course! But the focus must be on the end product. When my book goes on sale January 3, 2015 I want to know it is completed at the highest standard I could achieve at this time at the beginning of my career, I would love it to be loved by everyone, so much so they would overlook some small error the editor nor I had the insight to catch.

But critiques are sure to tear it apart. I have heard no new writer comes unscathed by critiques their first rodeo. I am very impatient waiting for the book to be edited. With the release date set for January 3, 2015 The time for corrections is fast slipping away and I certainly do not want to have red on every page and have to try and correct that many mistakes in a month and have those corrections approved and not have any more corrections to complete in such a small amount of time.

“Scar Wars Forged In Fright” is a very intense book about living with the symptoms of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from my first suicide attempt at nine years old through the next thirteen years of nightmares,  flashbacks, night terrors, suicide attempts, panic/anxiety attacks , and finally the beginning stages of agoraphobia. In the book I tell the whole story of how I ended up with a call to a crisis line getting me to agree to go see a particular therapist before I made a final decision that would be permanent. I did go to see that therapist the next day and I thought either I am given some kind of hope or I will return home put the gun to my temple and pull the trigger. I was all alone at that time my husband was on  military maneuvers and it was just me dealing with the culmination of a lifetime of horrors and secrets that were killing me so cruelly slow that it was inhumane. But that visit did leave me with hope. The book goes on from there to detail the different therapies that got me from Victim to Survivor!

Wow, I wrote this blog to make sure I kept a promise to my fellow authors and it has turned into a commercial advertisement for my book.

Oh, no look at the time! It is now technically the sixth so my November 5th blog I ran eleven minutes over the deadline. Have to stop missing deadlines. Let me have this one and I will make sure the rest of the blogs on time!

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Dreams and Nightmares, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Suicide and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

