E.M.D.R. Therapy For Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

In my my book “Scar Wars Forged In Fright” I talk about living with the symptoms of PTSD and also getting counseling for effects it was having on my life. I went to traditional therapy, my therapist used Jungs interpretations instead of Freud’s. Which I was very happy about because for me it connected on a deeper level.  I recently realized that all through the therapy phase of the book I left out my experience with EMDR. Eye Movement Desensitization Reprocessing was introduced to me by a V.A. Doctor through my therapist. It cost extra but I only had three sessions and it kicked my healing into high gear!

The three most horrible memories of abuse were changed into a different scene in my mind. During the last session of EMDR I kind of went inside myself and had a vision of me underground going as fast as Superman up through the dirt and roots just flying through them and reaching the surface I was nude and dirty from head to toe. I called it my rebirth from Mother Earth. After this event I all of the sudden was given the gift to draw and sketch. Unfortunately those abilities were just long enough to get me through the end of my therapy which used art as part of the process.

EMDR was developed by Francine Shapiro in 1989. Since that time it has been used effectively in work with patients who have PTSD. It has also been found effective in children. when looking for a psychotherapist to treat you with the EMDR make sure they have credentials proving they have taken courses and passed them successfully. I did go through EMDR later in 1998 but the session wasn’t as successful as the one during the time period in 1992-10995 that I had the original therapy.

Because of my own positive results I recommend EMDR as a viable therapy that can produce very good results. here is a link that explains the 8 steps you go  through using EMDR.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eye_movement_desensitization_and_reprocessing

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

