Excerpt from “The Thinnest Loser Confessions Of An Unreformed Bulimic”

Here is an excerpt from my new book on Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing It deals with the unresolved problems in my life that lead me to become Bulimic so I could have control of one thing in my life. And This is the way it all began with one stupid decision…

“I am bulimic. I have been bulimic since September 1996. I went through two years of infertility treatments that were useless and I had gained almost a hundred pounds while going through the treatments. It seems the medicine in the shots I was given counteracted my thyroid medicine and hypothyroidism raged inside me. The last day I was at Fort Sam Houston for treatments I stood on the scale and the numbers where two hundred and ninety-nine. I quit weighing after that. Even after all the infertility medicines I was given when they checked to see if I had any viable eggs they only found one. No multiple birth for me, no birth at all. Wow, that was a blow! Then my husband who was a great soldier was forced out of the Army after fifteen years of service because they changed the requirements to retire. He was given some money, less than a year’s salary, and we were homeless and jobless. We went to live with family who helped us get on our feet. Then a friend offered me a position as a Nanny for his son and said we could live rent free if I would be his Nanny. His wife was going to Germany on a tour of duty and they had decided not to go as a family. So we moved to Texas but she had not left yet and during that time they did us pretty dirty. One night we were just going to the store in my car, the only valuable possession that we had left, and some teenagers went the wrong way through traffic and totaled my car. Back at the house the friends treated us really mean and I was tired of being hurt by other people. I weighed so much and I had been walking miles everyday and nothing was happening. I knew about Bulimia because I had a sister recovering from both bulimia and anorexia. I wanted to be able to take control of one thing in my life and I told my husband I’m going to become bulimic just until I reach the one hundred and thirty-five pounds, that was what the army doctors had commanded me to get to for the last fourteen years. My husband did not understand what a horrific decision I had made and I did not either. But I began that day.”

,,,I will never forget that first day because it changed my life in so many negative ways from then on out that I felt compelled to share my story. In hopes of warning others that Bulimia is a serious Mental Illness and  there is no going back once you have started to rely on it to lose weight

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Eating Disorder and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

