“Sticks and Stones”

Yet words can ever hurt me!

As a child we had the chant words will never hurt me, but that was really a lie we told ourselves.

Words Hurt, Wound, Scar, And Can Even Paralyze Someone With Fear.

I know because I remember all the names people have called me in my life. I remember them now without any pain, but they made a gaping wound that has now healed  through the help of a therapist. The wound these people caused me in my Elementary, Junior High, and High School Years left a scar that reminds me everyday to be careful with my words. Those names my fellow students called me were part of a bigger picture that contained more verbal abuse that led to physical and sexual abuse. You may be reading this remembering a name you called me since some of my readers were classmates of mine. When you are making fun of someone, start a rumor, or just out and out call them a name you cannot know the extent of damage you are doing. Well, I know some of my classmates knew very well they had hurt me and I could see them relish that in their eyes.

I tell my daughter to always be kind to everyone because she does not know what happens to them when they go home. There may be a reason they try to hurt or belittle you. It is not right for them to do that so leave the situation, walk away…

I walked away a lot. Sometimes though, I was forced to stand and fight.

When my book  “Scar Wars-Forged in Fright ” debuts those classmates that hurt me so offhandedly will read the horror I really lived. I have given their viciousness a lot of thought and I wonder what made them that way. Because you see, I did not know what happened to them when they went home either.

I believe bullies are full of pain and they are so miserable that they take all their anger and find someone weaker than them to abuse since they had  been abused. It could have been any kind of abuse. Some bullies are angry that no one will pay attention to them so they make themselves puffed up and make a scene so people will think they are big and tough and it is a warning not to mess with them. They are just as hurt and damaged as their victim.

Others can be physically violent.

If you still have yearbooks take them out and look at your classmates. Look at how young they were to be abused in such adult ways.

There have always been bullies and there always will be bullies for one simple reason…

What I know know is that abuse begets abuse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About authorjlpitts

J.L. Pitts is a Non-Fiction writer. She blogs about her faith and writes probing articles on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She is also a poet. Her newest book was published recently "Scar Wars Forged In Fight" is already stirring the nest in her memoir with a tell-all format. She is writing her third book also a non-fiction work about creating a closer walk with God. She is now a Certified Professional Counselor who specializes in helping clients to become at ease in any social situation. She herself learned these tactics after her own treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder showed her the gap in evolving in a therapeutic setting and evolving in today's society. Horrified by the fact that 22 soldiers diagnosed with PTSD commit suicide every day induced her to start this blog to reach out and connect with anyone dealing with PTSD and needing a hand back into society. As a Certified Group Facilitator she has started a Meetup Group for PTSD and is currently seeking a venue in the Huntsville, Alabama area. She has been sought out by radio talk shows on the internet and people with Podcasts that are booming. She feels younger every day because she stays so active Add to all that she is a Freelance Writer who never misses a deadline. Most of her free time is spent building a website for her career. You can check out the unfinished site at http://authorjlpitts.wix.com/authorjlpitts
This entry was posted in Hurtful Words and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

